recording help please...

hey everybody --

i'm a musician who has been in bands for years. due to starting a master's degree, getting married and expecting a baby, i'm not able to play out as much as i used to, so i really want to get into recording. all my life, my recording has all been done in a studio with other people at the helm. i was always reluctant (stupid) to learn my way around the board, so i'm really ignorant about it all.

so, my question is, what is a good way to start to get into recording at home? am i better off to get a stand alone multi-track or use a computer program? i guess to start, i'd be looking at the $1,000.00 - $1,500.00 range. I have all the instruments/amps I want/need (not really, but enough to be happy right now), vocal mics, some condenser mics, headphones etc. i definitely want a decent amount of tracks (12? 24?). any ideas or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. thanks a lot!

It depends. If you have a good computer, and/or are computer literate, theres alot of flexibility to be had. Going computer or multitrack are too very different routes. If you don't like working with a computer I can't see you really getting into computer software alot.