Beginner here...

Only been playing about 2 months now. I'm having a hard time getting the strumming pattern down on a couple of songs...Airline to Heaven and When You Wake Up Feeling Old. I've picked these songs to try and learn because they seem easy enough regarding chord patterns, etc. The strumming is getting me though. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Also if anyone wants to throw out a couple other song suggestions to get started on, it'd be great! Thanks again.

hmmm, not as easy as they sound.

the both have simple chords, but to play them like jeff, there's a bit hammering and pulling to do.

with airline to heaven, the chords are simple.. the mail riff involves holding down the D chord while hammering on the 2bd and 4th fret of the D string..

When you wake up feeling old sounds much better when you strike the high E string on every accent.. does this make sense??..

if you look up these song titles in this forum, there should be a topic explaining how to play them... good luck :cheers

via chicago is piss easy - just D A and G over and over

there are subtleties which one shouldn't over look. The move from D to A is sick. A little hammer off here and there and what not. I can't tab if you don't know what I'm talking about but the idea is to suggest a Dmaj7 before (while?) getting to A

yeah, i've noticed the little things. but playing the 3 chords over and over would be ok for a beginner

Of course.

She's a Jar (G Bmin C mostly)

ALTWYS (Amin G mostly)

Awesome, I appreciate the help guys. This may be because I'm new..but can somebody give me some help as far as the strumming patterns on some of these. I've tried listening to pick it up, but I guess my ear is just not trained to do it yet.

I guess I'm looking for something like "D D dudu" or whatever to illustrate. Do I even make sense?