I'm not really an expert (at all) on amps, so I was wondering what the advantage of using an FX loop on an amp is. In the past I have just gone from the guitar into the pedal and then into the normal input of the amp. What is the advantage to using the FX loop? Are there some pedals that should be or are better to be used in the FX loop as opposed to running guitar->pedal->amp? And is "send" the "in" or "out?" Any help and clarification would be very much appreciated. Thanks in advance.

I'm not really an expert (at all) on amps, so I was wondering what the advantage of using an FX loop on an amp is. In the past I have just gone from the guitar into the pedal and then into the normal input of the amp. What is the advantage to using the FX loop? Are there some pedals that should be or are better to be used in the FX loop as opposed to running guitar->pedal->amp? And is "send" the "in" or "out?" Any help and clarification would be very much appreciated. Thanks in advance.

I've never used anything that would work in an effects loop (well, at least it wouldn't sound very good). Overdrives for sure don't sound good in an effects loop. The loop effectively places the effects in the signal chain between the preamp and the power amp, as opposed to before the preamp. The result is less noise - this works for stuff like delays, choruses, etc. - time based effects. But bear in mind that though the result is less noise, you may not like the sound as well as if the effect was placed between the guitar and amp. Just play around with your effects and you'll see what I mean.

Effects send = out, effects return = in.

Here's something that might help:

http://www.guitarsite.com/guitar_FAQ.htm#LOOP