Dreamer in my Dreams

So I'm listening to Dreamer in my Dreams right now and I've been wondering about the progression of this song. It seems a very dark song to me, with blisters on brains and hanging from a beam, etc. But my silly question is this: was the ending of the song all improvised? After the coughing, which I assume is Jay, and the fiddle and piano that seems to keep the song from ending, are the lyrics also improvised??? Does anyone but me care? I'm not a musician so have no clue about how these things develop but assume Jeff's making it up as the song moves along...

He's hanging from a belt

He don't know what he's done

Just don't forget to say goodbye when he's gone

So I'm listening to Dreamer in my Dreams right now and I've been wondering about the progression of this song. It seems a very dark song to me, with blisters on brains and hanging from a beam, etc. But my silly question is this: was the ending of the song all improvised? After the coughing, which I assume is Jay, and the fiddle and piano that seems to keep the song from ending, are the lyrics also improvised??? Does anyone but me care? I'm not a musician so have no clue about how these things develop but assume Jeff's making it up as the song moves along...

He's hanging from a belt

He don't know what he's done

Just don't forget to say goodbye when he's gone

I tend to think it was planned more or less that way. I suppose it's possible that it happened spontaneously in the recording studio and the band went on to perform it that way, false endings and all. But it doesn't seem likely to me.

I think the lyrics clearly reflect Jeff's doubts about his role as song writer and family man...