Recording process question.

Anybody know the album-by-album recording process? Live in the stuido? Track by track? Steady mix of both? Obviously there are overdubs and things, but i'm curious as to which albums they decided to do which way. Which method do you prefer? Why do you think they wanted to switch it up? I'm pretty confident both A.M. and BT were live for the most part, and Summerteeth and AGIB were tracked individually...the film IATTBYH indicates that Yankee was live for the most part, but i'm not for sure.

• Replies 64
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

As a musician myself, I've always loved the idea of doing things differently each time to get a different experience and result. I know YHF might have been recorded live at time but there are also obvious cuts/punch ins etc. Sky Blue Sky was mostly recorded with everyone in a circle looking at each other which I think is really cool. 

I don't know about BT, and AM, but Summerteeth was an overdub fest.  Bennett even played some of the drums.

A lot of the core takes from YHF had a live band thing going, but then overdubs got crazy, and I think a lot of the live stuff got thrown out.

AGIB is almost 100% live, as is SBS.

WTA had most of the rhythm guitar, keys, bass and drums done live (vocals, not sure) in New Zealand with Nels and Jorgensen's stuff being added later at the loft.

I think TWL has a lot of live tracks at its core too, but some pretty free exploration in the overdub process.

I think they have it figured out at this point, and they've gotten the loft to a level where they don't even need to mix elsewhere.  With that Neve in the room they've got all the infrastructure to make amazing albums with engineer rates being the only ongoing cost as they work.  Pretty sweet.