Hello everyone who is better then me at guitar...which is a lot of you.

I am a pretty decent guitarist with a pick in my hand, but when it comes to fingerpicking I dont know where to begin, besides maybe picking the bass note of a chord in contrast to the higher notes.

I was wondering if you guys could point me in the direction of some good fingerpicking excersizes, tricks and things of that nature.

It would be very much appreciated.

• 2 weeks later...

Uh no. Start with stuff in standard tuning / 1st position to learn the basics.

While Metallica won't give you scenester cred like Iron & Wine, you'll get your fingers used to doing their thing sans pick. But since "Halcyon" doesn't want anybody playing Metallica, you should find a good "Needle and The Damage Done" tab...

Learn. The. Basics. It'll make it easier to actually learn songs - and not just memorize them - down the road.

Uh no. Start with stuff in standard tuning / 1st position to learn the basics.

While Metallica won't give you scenester cred like Iron & Wine, you'll get your fingers used to doing their thing sans pick. But since "Halcyon" doesn't want anybody playing Metallica, you should find a good "Needle and The Damage Done" tab...

Learn. The. Basics. It'll make it easier to actually learn songs - and not just memorize them - down the road.

Metallica is nowhere to start with fingerpicking. Look into some of the beginning fingerstyle books so you can actually see some pictures of correct hand position and which fingers need to play which strings (PIMA is really nice to understand up front instead of learning incorrect picking and trying to learn it later).

Ive taught quite a few people how to fingerpick, as it is the way I usually play. The best way to do it is simple repetition.

Finger a regular G chord.

And then play a pattern using your thumb and all three fingers of your right hand. ( Some people use the pinky, mine has always gotten in my way.)