Musicians - Ever been double-booked?

So I've been a performing musician for over 10 years now, and yesterday I just experienced my first "double booking" fiasco.

Our booking agent called the venue my band was scheduled to play at to let them know we found another band to bring along, and they said "ummm... we hadn't heard from you in a while, so we got other bands to fill the bill". The show was booked a month ago and we had already started promoting it... What do you mean you haven't heard from us? Of course I was pissed, so I called the venue wanting answers.... They offered me a date a week earlier, but that was unaccaptable, so I told him that he should kick one of the bands off of the bill that he booked over us.... He said he'd see what he could do and call me back...

I definitely don't want to burn any bridges with this place, but at the same time, I can't stand getting screwed over like that.. I had to let them know I was pissed... But again, I hope I didn't burn any bridges....

Never been double booked but once did a gig where we performed in-between rounds of a bikini contest. Not exactly what we had expected when we originally got the gig. The girls dressing room was right next door to ours, unfortunately no Motley Crue like parties ensued.

I may have been, but cannot remember for sure.

Maybe once, when I was in college or something. This does, indeed, suck. And it's further evidence that many "talent buyers" are genuine pieces of shit.

This happened to us. It's always after inviting everyone you know and advertising the heck out of it. How hard is it to keep a calendar? And confirm a booking before you get someone else instead? But then again, many of the bar owners or managers we have dealt with are such unorganized burn outs.