1. I made the mistake of putting my copy of W(TA) in the actual jacket, without the paper sleeve... it was difficult to remove, and now the surface of the LP has many of what appear to be scuff marks... is this harmful, and is my LP ruined?

2. I have a lot of dust building up, how can I prevent this?

If it sounds good, then it's ok.

As for the dust, start by using the paper sleeve/dust jacket. I'm not a scientist but I think the majority of the dust is attracted due to static elecricity. In the day, there were variouis products you could buy. Most popular were different kinds of "brushes" and cloths that sometimes had some sort of anti-static properties. You could also buy anti static "guns". There were specifically designed for the purpose - it's a fairly delicate thing but an lp can take some degree of abuse. I haven't looked for these in years but I'm sure you could get one in a higher end audio shop.

Use your common sense - don't brush an lp or rub it with something that you think would scuff it, and brush in a circular motion with the grooves, or along the grooves - not across the groves.

Of course this is all knowledge from an older guy and may be obsolete by now.

See if you can find an old Discwasher (and some D4 liquid) on eBay or somewhere.

d4.jpg

Some other company is producing this product now, but I've read that the updated version is horrible. If you can find a 20-year-old Discwasher, pick it up. The liquid can be replicated with common household materials, if I recall correctly.

See if you can find an old Discwasher (and some D4 liquid) on eBay or somewhere.

d4.jpg

Some other company is producing this product now, but I've read that the updated version is horrible. If you can find a 20-year-old Discwasher, pick it up. The liquid can be replicated with common household materials, if I recall correctly.