How do I clean my turntable stylus?

Hello all,

I am still new to vinyl and such, and I was wondering what is the best way to clean a stylus needle.. I do not have the specialized brush, but I have heard that there are more accessible, home-made alternatives.

1. Does the q-tip and alcohol method seem safe?

2. My main question is how to actually go about cleaning it.. I have done some reading, but the textual instructions have thus far proven confusing, especially because I am rather unfamiliar with the various parts. I am confused, where do I clean? On the needle itself? It seems so small...

I don't recall ever cleaning a phonograph needle - except for wiping it with my fingertips, or waving the air around it - in order to remove the build-up once in a while. Of course, all of my records are mostly old and tore up to hell - so I am not one to say, I guess. The sound you hear is part of the magic, I do believe.

We used to just lift it up and blow on it (NAPE) but there is probably a better way. If your records skip too much, be sure to glue a penny on the top of the arm :lol

I don't recall ever cleaning a phonograph needle - except for wiping it with my fingertips, or waving the air around it - in order to remove the build-up once in a while. Of course, all of my records are mostly old and tore up to hell - so I am not one to say, I guess. The sound you hear is part of the magic, I do believe.

I was going to make this snarky comment myself, but A-man beat me to it. If you really want to know don't ask us crusty old timers because we really do this stuff, because we don't care. You can also blow on the needle to get the crap off it, but really a small brush is the best idea. Everyone has different levels of compulsiveness about their record collections, but most of us with lots of older LPs simply aren't that compulsive.