Soundproofing a rehearsal space

So my wife and I (and fellow bandmate) are going to construct a rehearsal building/guest room/office in our back yard.

The building will be similar to this one, with the rehearsal space on the first level, and the office on the second.

tbd800.jpg

Here's my biggest concern. We we'll definitely have to insulate it for temperature control, but what about sound proofing?? I would hate to build the building, move the band to my house, and then we can't play there because of neighbor complaints....

Should we buy the soundproof material to go on the walls, or have something installed inside the walls, and then install sheet rock or paneling over that? Also, that sound proofing material is obnoxiously expensive... Does anyone know where to get it cheap, or know of an effective alternative?

Thank you friends.

First place id start asking is here--> Tape Op Building Space forum

Im by no means a pro, but ive done a few projects...two main things to remember are that 1) Dead air space soundproofs, and 2) Bass frequencies travel longer and stronger

Id insulate the walls with thin fiberglass sheets or eggcrate foam and leave at least two inches of air separation between the exterior walls and the new...particle board is better than sheet rock because it absorbs sound waves better...many folks use green glue to attach the insulation,, as it has some absorbing qualities...youll want to carpet the walls and ceiling (home deport regularly has clearance rugs, and more flooring and carpet companies sell remanent cheap) and need to put up a few bass traps...youll want to double pane the windows, or put blankets over them...make sure the doors are doubled and well sealed when closed and the floor is insulated somehow (carpet)...

Depending on your power needs, come as close to code as possible...ive seen one bandspace burn down because the owner didnt do his homework on electricity...