Video Editing in iMovie

I'm in the process of editing my demo tape for broadcasting and can't quite get the hang of using iMovie. There's no shot at getting Final Cut or anything like that, so iMovie is my only option. Here's where I'm at now:

- All of my raw footage is loaded on the computer as .mov files (all the clips are between 30 and 50 minutes)

- When I try loading all of the clips into iMovie, it promptly crashes (since that's a TON of video to throw at it)

- My plan was to load each clip individually into iMovie and take what I want off of it and export that as a new, smaller .mov

- this option appears, on the first two tries, to take upwards of 4 hours for a 7 minute clip

I am a total newb at video editing and would be open to any options people would have. And please be kind...my nerves are frayed after doing this for two days--using web tutorials, advice from friends, and my own intuition--and getting nowhere.

I'm in the process of editing my demo tape for broadcasting and can't quite get the hang of using iMovie. There's no shot at getting Final Cut or anything like that, so iMovie is my only option. Here's where I'm at now:

- All of my raw footage is loaded on the computer as .mov files (all the clips are between 30 and 50 minutes)

- When I try loading all of the clips into iMovie, it promptly crashes (since that's a TON of video to throw at it)

- My plan was to load each clip individually into iMovie and take what I want off of it and export that as a new, smaller .mov

- this option appears, on the first two tries, to take upwards of 4 hours for a 7 minute clip

I am a total newb at video editing and would be open to any options people would have. And please be kind...my nerves are frayed after doing this for two days--using web tutorials, advice from friends, and my own intuition--and getting nowhere.