Looking to buy an old acoustic

So for some reason I've developed a desire to purchase a really old acoustic guitar. I've never owned a vintage guitar (unless you count my 94 Strat) so I'm looking for something in the 60's 70's range. The only problem is I don't want anything expensive because I'm hard on guitars and also I have a house full of kids.. I would cry like a baby if they ever broke a sweet vintage guitar.. They've already cracked one of my guitars and dinged another one so I'm looking for something on the cheap side..

I've seen a couple old Epiphones and Yamaha's that look pretty cool. I've seen a lot of 60's and 70's model Epiphone FT-120's floating around out there.

Has anyone ever played a FT-120 or similar model? Should I just get a more expensive model and lock it away in a safe when I'm not playing it to keep it away from the kids? Although I've been playing for over 15 years and have owned many guitars, I'm by no means a guitar aficionado.

Guest Speed Racer

I've got a '67 Epiphone Cortez and I love it. Some old guitars are "vintage," which drives the price and value way up, and some are just old. You should have no trouble getting a solid old guitar you can enjoy the way you want to without worrying too much about it. Mine only gets pissy when I'm not humidifying it appropriately.

I've got a '67 Epiphone Cortez and I love it. Some old guitars are "vintage," which drives the price and value way up, and some are just old. You should have no trouble getting a solid old guitar you can enjoy the way you want to without worrying too much about it. Mine only gets pissy when I'm not humidifying it appropriately.

That Cortez sounds very cool.. I'll keep my eyes open for that model. Thanks Nap. :)

Guest Speed Racer

It's a smaller body. If you're looking for a FT-120 (which is apparently also the model number for a bitchin' microscope - thanks Google!) you might not be interested in one. But I like mine.