http://www.centro-matic.com/

i've been wanting to get into this dude for years. i recently went to their website and they have a free 24 track sampler for newbies. pretty cool! i've been enjoying it and will def be picking up some albums in the near future. what to start with though? the guy is so damn prolific. i guess they have a new album coming out in June. anyway, thought some folks would be interested.

c

Will is an incredible artist. It took me a long time (like 2 1/2 years of trying) to get acclimated to his vocal style, but once I finally got it I was hooked. I'm glad I never gave up! I've been listening to his various projects frequently for about 6 months. It crazy when I realize I've got somewhere around 10 of his albums and there are still MANY to go.

Here are my personal favorites:

Centro-Matic: Fort Recovery (I'd probably start with this one)

South San Gabriel: Welcome, Convalescence

Will Johnson: Vultures Await

I'm dying to see Centro-Matic live. I assume a new album means to come. I'll be keeping any eye out.

Oh, and check out this video of Will painting the cover of the new album if you haven't already:

http://vimeo.com/16508404

Will is an incredible artist. It took me a long time (like 2 1/2 years of trying) to get acclimated to his vocal style, but once I finally got it I was hooked. I'm glad I never gave up! I've been listening to his various projects frequently for about 6 months. It crazy when I realize I've got somewhere around 10 of his albums and there are still MANY to go.

Here are my personal favorites:

Centro-Matic: Fort Recovery (I'd probably start with this one)

South San Gabriel: Welcome, Convalescence

Will Johnson: Vultures Await

I'm dying to see Centro-Matic live. I assume a new album means to come. I'll be keeping any eye out.

Oh, and check out this video of Will painting the cover of the new album if you haven't already:

http://vimeo.com/16508404