Some Studio Help

Hey all

I am trying to equip my laptop(a new Gateway notebook) with a home studio.

I was wondering what I would need to do that? I don't want anything to fancy. I just want to be able to record vocals, a couple of guitar tracks, maybe a harmonica or keyboard, and then be able to mix that and to burn it.

What would I need to do that?

Thanks for all your help.

I'm not an expert on this, but I set up my friends stuff to do our demos. He owns and operates it when the whole band records. He has a soundcard that has four inputs and four outputs. He uses Cubase as the program to record onto. Then he has another program Wavelab to mix everything down to burn onto a cd. As far as how much disk space you'll need to do any of this I have no clue because we push his computer way beyond its capacity and it still has a huge hard drive. I've done recording on better computer systems and the biggest difference I noticed was a really good mixer, but our setup works fine without one. On my band's pages in my signature are songs that were all recorded with this setup. Check em out. I think they sound alright. We've made a good amount of grift money off of the tracks so they must sound pretty good. They're free on these pages. I don't grift on the infernets, yet.

Guest cc2003btw

It's mostly software, after that you need a mic input which if the laptops new, it must have. Install something like Cubase, Adobe Auditions is very good too. Then you need to decide how you're going to record the guitar parts. You can either go into your amp, then use either a D.I. or microphone that (about 10cm away from the speaker).

With acoustic recording it's a bit harder. If you have an Electro Acoustic then theres no problem, same as before. If not, then learn to play and stay still and stick the mic on a table or something.

Harmonicas are similar to the acoustic guitars without an amp, play about 30cm from the mic, and that should be ok.