So, I am in a band, if you could call it that with a buddy of mine. He is a drummer and I am a guitarist, if you could call it that. For a variety of reasons mostly related to the fact that none of our friends play instruments, we are stuck with just the two of us.

Without a second guitar or bass player, I find that the sound we get (while often full) is sometimes empty. We are probably too ambitious with our song choices, but even when we try to cover bands like White Stripes or Black Keys, I find that the whole "one guitar, one drummer" is more of a theory with these bands than a reality. Keyboards and bass are certainly all over a ton of White Stripes tunes and even the Black Keys seem to use multi-tracked guitars.

Obviously, as the one guitarist, it is impossible to solo when I dont have any rhythm guitar behind me. So sometimes I mess around and pick out individual notes of the chords to try to cheat and get a bit of both. I am not really in love with how that turns out, though. I have thought about a loop pedal, but ones I have looked into have limited loop times (e.g., 20 seconds). And I dont know if you can really pull off what I am trying to do with a loop pedal so I dont want to waste the money if it doesn't work...

Does anyone have any ideas? Or thoughts/suggestions/etc.? Anyone live in NYC and want to play some cool wilco/spoon/ryan adams tunes as a lead guitarist or bass player and help solve this problem directly?

Really appreciate any help...

Thanks,

MattZ