LouieB on the radio - R&B Flashback

I have not done any shameless self promotion for my radio gigs on here to this point, but your luck ran out. 

I am an occasional host on the R&B Flashback show on WNUR (Northwestern University) and this Sunday August 18, 2013 is another one of my shows.  It is at 5-7 Central Time on WNUR.org or 89.3 FM if you live on the northside of Chicago.  I am by no means an expert on this type of music, but I play what I like, so this week is some obscure material from the Fame Studio, Savoy R&B (Roots of Rock and Roll), a bit of gospel and maybe a touch of Numero Group. 

Listen in for some interesting music, some technical flubs, a few awkward radio moments, and hopefully a good time.  Thanks in advance. 

This a great show even when I am not on  (more likely when I am not on).  Listen in on other weeks for writer and true expert Bill Dahl's selections and comments. He really knows his stuff.

LouieB

Sorry that I missed this. Is there a podcast of it anywhere?

You got a playlist to post? I would love to see what you played.

No and no.  I had a set list, but punted so many times I am not sure exactly what I played.  Mostly it was unreleased material from Fame Studio, some 50s and 60s gospel and then a whole bunch of 40s and 50s Savoy R&B.  Will give more notice next time.  Played way too many LPs. 

LouieB

Man, I loved listening to NUR! You never knew what you were gonna get by tuning in. Same with Loyola's station....

Fame?

You play anything from that Dan Penn Fame collection?

One of my first shows I did a bunch of Dan Penn and some Spooner Oldham too.  One of the Kent collections is nothing but their material done by themselves and lots of the Fame crew. Great stuff.  I did end the show with I'm Your Puppet as an outro.