A question on strings.

This section of the board has been so helpful, I thought I may exploit it further.

I am self-taught, been playing for only 3/4 years, and really only have the deutchebanks at Guitar Center for advice :stunned

Sooo... I bought myself a Martin HD-28 for Christmas, and have been using Martin's Phospur Bronze Heavy gauge strings. They sound great, BUT, the bass on them (and the Martin) is so unbelievable, that with many Wilco/Tweedy songs (drop D, etc.) the low end just swallows up the rest of the higher strings at times.

Any recommendations on strings that would be IDEAL for Tweedy/WIlco songs on this type of guitar. I don't mind spending a couple extra bucks for the right fit.

Thanks in advance. You guys rock!

This section of the board has been so helpful, I thought I may exploit it further.

I am self-taught, been playing for only 3/4 years, and really only have the deutchebanks at Guitar Center for advice :stunned

Sooo... I bought myself a Martin HD-28 for Christmas, and have been using Martin's Phospur Bronze Heavy gauge strings. They sound great, BUT, the bass on them (and the Martin) is so unbelievable, that with many Wilco/Tweedy songs (drop D, etc.) the low end just swallows up the rest of the higher strings at times.

Any recommendations on strings that would be IDEAL for Tweedy/WIlco songs on this type of guitar. I don't mind spending a couple extra bucks for the right fit.

Thanks in advance. You guys rock!

I use D'Addario Phosphor Bronze Light on a Gibson J-45 and really get that "Tweedy" sound. However, I have a Martin that sounds much better with Bright Bronze strings. If you feel that the high notes on your guitar aren't quite there, you might try a brighter string.

I prefer medium gauge D'Addario EXP strings. Good balance between feel, tone and longevity.

But strings are very subjective. I'd suggest buying a whole bunch of different brands, gauges, types and narrow in on the ones that sound good to your ears.