Guitar Hero - Good or Bad?  

19 members have voted

1. 1. Do you think the video game Guitar Hero is a good thing for Rock guitar, or a bad thing?

• Good - It's bringing back Rock lead guitar and inspiring people to learn to play real guitar.
    • Bad - It's making a mockery of Rock lead guitar and inspiring people to play more video games.

I have been playing guitar for about 12 years, and I played Guitar Hero for the first, and only, time a couple of months ago. I SUCKED at it. I think there is very little in common between playing real guitar and the game. Granted, with the game it really works your hand-eye coordination and you have to be pretty damn fast, but will someone who is inspired to play guitar from Guitar Hero make music worth listening to? Learning to play guitar requires alot of dedication, patience, and an ear for music.

Maybe, if it makes alot of people want to suddenly learn to play guitar, there might be alot of cheap used guitars on the market soon, haha.

Anyway, if it gets more people interested in music, then giv'r!

Learning to play guitar requires alot of dedication, patience, and an ear for music.

Maybe, if it makes alot of people want to suddenly learn to play guitar, there might be alot of cheap used guitars on the market soon, haha.

Anyway, if it gets more people interested in music, then giv'r!

Great point. Maybe future guitarists are going to learn to play, regardless of what music or game they are exposed to. Like I have known many people that adore music and guitar, have tried guitar, but just can't seem to take off with it.

The circuit city (?) near my office on 5th Ave has two Rock Band setups right by the store window. Crowds gather outside at the window to watch teenagers play the game. There is one dude that plays the guitar behind his back and sticks his tongue out. I am not joking.