German literature, film, etc.

I like Gustav Klimt's paintings.

We watched a couple Wim Wenders movies in my college German classes. Der Amerikanischer Freund was one. It has Dennis Hopper in it, and is half in English, half in German. That's about all I remember.

I enjoyed reading the plays of Georg Buechner and the poetry of Rainer Maria Rilke also.

Thomas Mann is maybe the best German writer. And then there's Rammstein.

Here's a few German Films that are worth checking out:

Rainer Werner Fassbinder - Ali: Fear Eats the Soul / Berlin Alexanderplatz / Fox and His Friends / The Marriage of Maria Braun / The Bitter Tears of Petra Von Kant...

Werner Herzog - Stroszek / Aguirre, the Wrath of God / Fitzcarraldo...

Fritz Lang - M, Metropolis

Volker Schl

I'm looking for German literature (classic or contemporary), film, art, photography, music, or anything else artsty.

Does anyone have any good names or titles I should see/read/hear?

I'm studying Weimar Cinema (1919-1934) as we speak! It's awesome, the following rule:

The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari

Nosferatu

Dr. Mabuse the Gambler

The Golem and How He Came into this World

M

Metropolis

The Testament of Dr. Mabuse

There are more, but this is a pretty good start.

Germany has lots of great film.

I'm looking for German literature (classic or contemporary), film, art, photography, music, or anything else artsty.

Does anyone have any good names or titles I should see/read/hear?

I'm guessing this is similar to your Africa project from a few years ago? If so, I'll try to list some recent films that might work. Several have co-origins, but all are largely German:

Requiem / Schmid / 2006

The Lives of Others / von Donnersmarck / 2006

Our Daily Bread / Geyrhalter / 2005

Sophie Scholl: The Final Days / Rothemund / 2005

Workingman's Death / Glawogger / 2005

Fateless / Koltai / 2005

Downfall / Hirschbiegel / 2004

Before the Fall (Napola) / Gansel / 2004

The Edukators / Weingartner / 2004