Jason Isbell to reunite with Drive-By Truckers for benefit.

I have to admit I have not bought the last few DBT records. I saw them recently though.

LouieB

I am new to the DBT over the last several months ( found my way to them after listening to Southeastern) so I don't have years of experience with them although I do have most of the catalogue now, I think the new album is excellent. I don't know what their fan base thinks, but I love it.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

I don't know if I'd call it a return to form, mainly because they've evolved through very distinct eras with different sounds and lineups -- so to which point does it return? Not sure. I know there are a few folks here who refer to The Dirty South as their last great record; others say BTCD is the last great Truckers record, although that record - which is terrific - also was more than a little bloated. It could have had 4-6 songs trimmed off and been a true classic.

I'd say top-to-bottom EO is probably their strongest and most balanced since BTCD. EO is definitely more muscular than Go Go Boots but it still has some quiet moments. I really liked the stripped-down approach of GGB record and enjoyed hearing them explore another side of themselves. But I do dig the sound of the new record quite a bit.

I first discovered DBT around the time of Decoration Day/Dirty South and have been a big fan ever since. As they moved out of the Isbell era and began exploring more styles and dynamics in their music, I think they became more tuneful and even more interesting. Don't get me wrong -- I love the three-guitar assault of the old days -- but the Truckers of today can still bring it.

• 3 weeks later...