Rest in Peace, Children of Uvalde, TX

Make it stop.:( Please, help make it stop.

Wherever you are, whoever, whatever the means you have...influence, money, a voice, passion on this horrible subject....

Speak up. Speak up!

Make it stop. Keep pushing until it stops. Make it stop however you, personally, can. 

Between us all we'll create the will to end the gun lobby. 

• Like 2

I was a teacher when Sandy Hook happened.  They called us all into school very early in the morning the next day for an emergency faculty meeting.  Everyone was beyond horrified and thought for sure it could never happen again.  Ten years later and here we are again.  I’m retired now, but am guessing there will be emergency faculty meetings again this morning.  

And, more local to me, where I go, and how I travel, there’s the man who was randomly shot dead on the subway in the Canal St. area of NYC while on his way to brunch on the other day.  

Ten people gunned down in a grocery store in Buffalo, NY just a few days before that.

Horrible. All of it.

These are things we all do: go to school/work, go to the grocery store, hop on a train.

I truly do not understand why these things continue to happen. They happen so frequently now there is no time to get over the latest one before the next one happens.  

• Like 1
  • Sad 1

Just awful. I teach. Earlier this year, right before winter break, some kids spread rumors about an upcoming shooting in our school. Half the parents came to pick up their kids. Then, the nationwide tik tok threat (most of you probably don't even remember that in our current shitstorm), lots of kids missed several days before break. A renewed call to arm teachers. The same damn politicians who don't trust us with our JOBS want to arms us.

• Like 2
  • Sad 1