Wilco — 5 September 2023, Manchester, England, UK (Bridgewater Hall)

After a panic over a family illness I was so glad I was able to make it to this one. Fantastic performance and some good natured banter from Jeff about it being a seated venue! Nels, as ever, was on fire. And it was already a great night an hour before the gig started because I bumped into Glenn outside 😊 Setlist here courtesy of somebody more organised than me https://www.setlist.fm/setlist/wilco/2023/the-bridgewater-hall-manchester-england-3ba28884.html

• Like 1
  • Thanks 2

I was at the front and man it was weird at first being seated that close for a gig. Tried standing up but no one really joined in until the encore. I know Mogwai played there a few years back but it's so strange being seated for a rock gig in the stalls.

It was excellent once I got used to it though, and being like 3-4 metres away from the band at the most was mind blowing. I'm a musician and geeked out about being able to see how they actually play the parts right in front of me. Closest I've been for a Wilco gig which happily coincided with the best performance of Impossible Germany I've heard Nels play. Pat's playing on Bird Without a Tail / Base of My Skull was brilliant as well, and Jeff on Spiders was also a treat. Love an audience singalong to the instrumental parts as well.

First time I've seen Courtney Marie Andrews live. Her set sounded fantastic and her singing on You And I and California Stars for the encore was top. 

• Like 2
7 minutes ago, Glenn's Stick Bag said:

I think there was a reluctance to stand up because of the venue being quite formal? I was surprised when this venue was announced but couldn’t fault the performance.