Guitar Multi-Effects...

469715.jpg

I'm gonna go out on a limb and say that 95% of guitarists who use these simply have no idea how fucking bad most of their tone is.

Case in point: I've been playing in a 50s cover band and the other guitarist just got one -- and it is killing me, literally. Why does one need such a device? I've been playing guitar for almost 20 years and I really don't think most of those tones are necessary. A good overdrive, reverb and tremolo should get most people by. Just my $.02 as I sit here with my right ear ringing.

It's very true that digital effects don't hold a candle to pure, analog effects, but a lot of people use effects processsors for convenience, price, and the simple fact that most of the audience is never going to tell the difference between digital and analog. Many processors, if used right can sound pretty darn good.. If you run them through the effects loop and stay far away from the distortions, then you can get a descent sound out of them..

when I was in a cover band in college I ended up purchasing some ridiculous digitech floorboard with practically every effect known to man. Getting rid of it a couple of years later and collecting stomp boxes was the best idea I ever had tone-wise and was surely a gift to anyone listening.

cant stand them.

when I was in a cover band in college I ended up purchasing some ridiculous digitech floorboard with practically every effect known to man. Getting rid of it a couple of years later and collecting stomp boxes was the best idea I ever had tone-wise and was surely a gift to anyone listening.

cant stand them.

Amen brother.