Yep.

I don't know who else to ask but you dudes and ladies are generally well informed! I've decided, now that I am a workin' man, to get a video game console to replace my good old Nintendo 64. I was thinking Wii, that Zelda game looked real cool, but then I realized I wouldn't be able to play NHL09! I would therefor lose my doctorate in Canuckology. SO! PS3 or XBox 360! Which one should I get? I don't want to buy a console and have XBOX 720 and PS4 come out.

• Replies 57
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

XBox 360. I own one. I love it. It's a great time-killer. NHL 09 is incredible. Madden's good too. But yeah, I love 360.

I've heard rumors about new consoles in 2011-12. But that's a whiles away.

As a college student I am well versed in the on going debate. My friends had a PS3 (it got stolen like a week ago) and I have a 360. Both have their advantages and disadvantages.

360 pros: Easy online play, cheaper, easy switch from 64 controller wise.

360 cons: loud, no blu-ray,

PS3 pros: slightly better graphics, blu-ray, variety of hard drive options.

PS3 cons: strange user interface when not playing game (applys to you maybe?), lots of storage space you payed for that is not being used. Might get stolen.

I went with a 360 because it was cheaper. The games for both are almost the same, certainly NHL is on both platforms. A small number of games only come out on one system, but not enough to matter.

We do 360. We were PS people for a really long time and then my partner made the switch to the 360. I don't know what the Xbox Live rates are right off hand, but I believe they are pretty inexpensive. Also, with xbox you can run XBMC, which is rather nifty. There may be similar setups for PS that I just don't know about.

(Edit: We have a 360 but we run XBMC on the old Xbox. D'oh!"