Lack of inspiration

Didn't know if this went here, but I've been writing songs since I was 12 years old.

I've suddenly lost all interest in my songs, and can't stand them, and haven't been able to write for a good 8 months now, and it's really dragging down my self-esteem a bit. Does anyone have any advice/ what they do when they can't write? Should I maybe just stop playing music?

have your wife/girlfriend break it off with you

worked for me

j/k really, i often find the act of songwriting is in and of itself work, and so i will sometimes try to break the process down into any creative endeavor (random chords or melodies, stream of consciousness lyrics or words, draw or scribble, take pictures)...expose yourself to multiple stimuli, read blogs, engage in conversations...

then take these experiences, scraps etc, and record it in a manner in which you can later access them as inspiration or even just shots in the dark

when making up songs, melodies, extemporanious lyrics---get a minidisc or something and RECORD EVERYTHING! Might kick you into something later on

i also recommend keeping you instrument in your hand as often as possible...i watch movies/tv/news, surf the web, listen to music, talk on the phone etc, constantly holding my guitar...you never know when youll hear something or think of something...plus bonding with your instrument is key to bonding with a song

good luck!

I've been there too. Don't give up. I often find that just playing an instrument without really thinking about it often yields some results (sort of the like the musical version of stream of consciousness writing). Also, playing an instrument with which you're less familiar can often inspire a new song (same thing goes for alternate tunings -- I think the older thread mentioned that). Who knows, maybe you'll just wake up some morning soon with a melody in your head. Anyway, good luck.