I'm A Cop!...You Idiot!

Florida mom has 5 year old son "arrested" in public

FORT MYERS, Fla -- A Fort Myers mother is under fire for the way she disciplined her 5-year-old son in public. She is calling it tough love but some people who witnessed it were moved to tears, calling it way too harsh for a child that young.

The woman had her son arrested outside a 7-11 store in Lehigh Acres to teach him a lesson about the dangers of playing with matches and lighters.

Her friend, a 15-year veteran Lee county sheriff's deputy, played along in the mock arrest and handcuffed the child and put him in the back of a cruiser. Horrified witnesses couldn't believe their eyes. One woman said, "That's not a way to treat a child, that's not a way to teach a lesson to a little boy."

The mother, who is only identified as "Michelle," stands by her decision saying, "I'd do it again. If more parents did what I did we wouldn't have the crime that we have now".

:realmad

Really?! Just because you can't discipline a child doesn't mean that you have to go and get them fake arrested in public! This is so beyond being wrong. And what foolish cop risks his/her career by partaking in this nonsense?

• Replies 112
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Really?! Just because you can't discipline a child doesn't mean that you have to go and get them fake arrested in public! This is so beyond being wrong. And what foolish cop risks his/her career by partaking in this nonsense?

Isn't this a form of discipline, though? The kid was not physically harmed and will have an indelible memory of the day the cops came. I'm betting he doesn't play with matches/lighters anymore. The hand cuffs were going too far, though.

Guest Speed Racer

will have an indelible memory of the day the cops came