If You Could Have Been Present for the Recording...

Help is a good choice too. It would be interesting to hear them transform it from its original, slow, dirge-like vibe and inject some tempo into it. Dear Prudence would be cool too. Would like to see Macca laying down that delicious bass line and the drums. He played the drums on Back in the USSR too.

Picking a tune from Revolver was tough. I picked Tomorrow Never Knows because it was the first session for Revolver - really set the tone for a new chapter in what they could do in the studio.

1) Day in the Life

2) Revolution 9

3) Abbey Road Medley (maybe cheating here)

4) Helter Skelter

5) Get Back

They played the medley live in the studio a few times, though I believe the final product is pieced together from different takes. The guitar solos in The End all were done together live...over a backing track.

As a musician I'd be looking to be inspired--and steal some ideas--so I'd want to go to the sessions for songs that had interesting production and arrangements going on.

Probably something along the lines of:

Strawberry Fields Forever

I Am the Walrus

A Day in the Life

Tomorrow Never Knows

Paperback Writer

Would have been awfully fun to watch the first audition with George Martin in 1962.  Watching them at 19/20ish would have been fascinating.  As the story goes, Martin was very taken with their wit and charisma, what a blast to watch.

Would have been awfully fun to watch the first audition with George Martin in 1962. Watching them at 19/20ish would have been fascinating. As the story goes, Martin was very taken with their wit and charisma, what a blast to watch.

I agree. So much energy and enthusiasm at the time. That's basically what sold him on The Beatles. He wasn't terribly impressed with their songs.

Charlie:

Thanks SO much for that YouTube!

That was awesome! Just a joy!