I'm just getting into them after SXSW, I have a couple of their albums, but nothing really grabbed me. I don't like I'm Not Afraid of You......

Best suggestions on where to start?

I Can Hear the Heart Beating as One

And Then Nothing Turned Itself Inside Out

Fakebook

Painful

Electro-O-Pura

try those in that order i'd say

i've always found their live shows incredibly inconsistant, but their set before MMJ at SXSW was pretty damn good.

I am Not Afraid of you and I will beat your ass - really grabbedd me, Im late to the game.

is I Can Hear the Heart Beating as One the classic its supose to be, i think im gonna pick it up this week.

If not what should be the YLT record I get next considering where I started.

Blue Line Swinger is one of my all time favorite songs..absolutely perfect in every way.

The only YLT albums I'm not a fan of are I Am Not Afraid.. and Fakebook.

So, you like the noisy stuff?

Those are two of my favorites of theirs (along with Electr-o-Pura)!

So, you like the noisy stuff?

Those are two of my favorites of theirs (along with Electr-o-Pura)!

Indeed. Which is not to say I dont like the quiet/more eclectic stuff of theirs. But I definitely prefer the noise/feedback drenched guitar attacks (From A Motel 6, I Saw You Looking, etc) far, far more.

Personally, "I Am Not Afraid" never grabbed me, although there are some gems there as well (such as "Hatchet")

Electr-O-Pura is my favorite. To me, it beats I Can Hear the Heart by quite a bit, although the conventional wisdom seems to disagree with that. ...Inside Out is also top-notch, but was a slow-grower for me, so I wouldn't recommend starting there.

I like some of the atmosphere of Summer Sun, but it is kind of inconsistent. Same for Painful, imo. Every album seems to have some gems on it, though.

I love YLT, but strangely have never gotten around to seeing them live. They're definitely on the "Gee, I hope they don't quit before I get a chance to see them" list.