TV On the Radio- Dear Science

I've listened to it 2x. I dig it. My first thought is that it's where Beck SHOULD be. I like all the horns and strings on the later tracks. Sounds great?... yeah. But not so much album of the year. That honor for me is still the Plants and Animals album.

Yeah I'm just getting started with it. My first impressions are that it is much more accessible than Cookie Mountain. I'm not sure that is a good thing or a bad thing ... or just a thing. But what I loved about Cookie Mountain was the unexpectedness of it all. Either way, Dear Science, is a great album, but I'll need more time before I could put it at the top of my list above Cloud Cult, Man Man, Raconteurs, Malkmus, Beck Black Keys, Dr. Dog, Sigur Ros, Plants and Animals, etc.

personally, i thought RTCM was wildly overrated. It wasnt bad, but it was really unfocused, and i didnt like the production. To me Dear Science is a quantum leap above RTCM. It is more 'accessible", but I dont think thats necessarily a bad thing...its not like we're in Lite FM territory. the mix has been improved so that you can actually hear individual instruments and place where they're coming from. I dunno, to my ears it sounds absolutely brilliant. It took me 2-3 listens to really grasp. Right now Love Dog and DLZ are blowing my mind, but I dont think theres a single weak chain in the entire work.

Cookie Mountain was light years musically ahead of the first EP and LP, and this only furthers their sound even more. the EP and first album showed a ton of promise, but musically i found both lacking and the borderline acapella grew tiring after a bit.

i can certainly see it ending up in my top 3 at the end of the year, but there's still a handful of potentially great albums to be released (Doves possibly for one)

Lover's Day is stunning

while i really love Acid Tongue, i don't think it's even as good as Rabbit Fur Coat