Vampire Weekend - "Contra"

• Replies 63
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I loved the first album but think the new stuff is absolutely horrid. "Horchata" made me cringe the first time I heard it and, much like "Beverly Hills" by Weezer did, it only multiplies every time I heard it.

None of those songs would even scratch the first album IMO.

Guest Speed Racer

I sent my dad their first LP because of its Graceland-y vibes, and I imagine he'll be getting the second for his birthday. My sister and I have been sending him contemporary music for a few years now and it's so refreshing to get picked up from the airport to She & Him instead of the local smooth jazz station.

They played two unreleased songs when I saw them in June of 08, and only one made it onto the album. I really liked the other one, but I can't remember anything about it, except that I think it made a 50 Cent reference.

I loved the first album but think the new stuff is absolutely horrid. "Horchata" made me cringe the first time I heard it and, much like "Beverly Hills" by Weezer did, it only multiplies every time I heard it.

None of those songs would even scratch the first album IMO.

I Think UR A Contra is up there w/ their best songs, but besides that there's def not any singles on here as good as A-Punk, Oxford Comma, or I Stand Corrected. it's a much more refined and less frantic record than the first, so there's no doubt that the youthful energy is lacking more than on the first.

Horchata is lame, as is California English, but other than that i dig the record for the most part. solid 7.5/10 or so, but def not as great as the debut. more cohesive of a listen though...

I sent my dad their first LP because of its Graceland-y vibes

Listening now. They still sound like a band who formed out of a classified ad that read "Band Members Needed. Is Paul Simon's Graceland the only album you've ever heard? If yes, call now."

I listened to the first single once and liked it.