Chicago teachers

Whats going on? Its all over the news but since I have a direct line to Chicagoans AND a good deal of teachers through this board I would love to see what the word on the street is. I hear the avg salary is somewhere around 74k and that this puts 400k kids out of the classroom? Is this union work at its finest?

Just wondering what you guys think.

• Replies 98
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I am a teacher, but not in Chicago.

What do I think? I think that salary is the least of the problems here. Teachers are now expected to be miracle workers, and to be accountable for things they have no control over. I have been teaching for 10 years. I am hardworking, dedicated, and love my students. But can I be all things to all kids, and still have any semblance of a life? No. I do not expect to be teaching after another year or two. It wouldn't matter if they doubled my salary. I can't make every kid successful, without some sort of accountability on the part of the kids....and there is none.

Your story is all too common among teachers, Brownie. I'm sad for you, and for the students who will miss out on your dedicated teaching. It's time for an entire generation of parents to step up and take responsibility for their children's behavior, and insist that those children are accountable and respectful.

Best of luck.

Tweedling, to reply to you, I support the Chicago teachers.

My wife is a Chicago Public School teacher and she is a member of the union (you don't have to be a member, but you do have to pay a fee if you are not I believe, that is usually how it works.) The teachers are not striking over pay, although that has not yet been selttled. This is mostly about evaluation and recall for staff laid off from closed schools. There is alot of support for the teachers in Chicago, a town where unions are pretty strong and almost all city employees have a union.