BLENDER MAGAZINE

For some reason I got Blender in the mail last week. The thing said I have a subscription through 2012. I had never heard of the magazine prior to then and have no idea how the subscription showed up. The same thing is happening with Spin also. Spin sucks though, so there is no way I would have subscribed.

For some reason I got Blender in the mail last week. The thing said I have a subscription through 2012. I had never heard of the magazine prior to then and have no idea how the subscription showed up. The same thing is happening with Spin also. Spin sucks though, so there is no way I would have subscribed.

Whoa, thats weird. My dad has Spin showing up in his mail too, and I can assure you he definitely didnt subscribe. I wonder whats going on....

I got Entertainment Weekly for about a year recently the same way. It just kept showing up

Whoa, thats weird. My dad has Spin showing up in his mail too, and I can assure you he definitely didnt subscribe. I wonder whats going on....

I know for Bonnaroo if you bought tickets early you got a free Spin subscription.

Maxim started showing up at my house a couple years ago. Talk about a shitty magazine, Bijou Phillips photos notwithstanding.

I think it's pretty common if you have a subscription to one magazine to start getting free issues of other magazines from the same parent company. The rationale is that you will eventually feel guilty and pay for a subscription. This is related to what my college journalism teacher said was called "Tilforbid"...in which whatever magazine you subscribe to keeps sending you magazines after your sub runs out until you forbid them to send you any more. Even if you don't break down and renew out of guilt, the magazine gets to claim higher circulation numbers, making the magazine more attractive to advertisers.